2018 Scholarship Winners

We want to congratulate the winners
and thank the very generous sponsors of these scholarship programs
for the 2018 San Francisco Writers Conference.

Our 2018 SFWC Student Scholarships went to:

Vidhima Shetty, a student at California High School 
Vickie Lu, a student at Amador Valley High School 
Aashna Avachat,
a student at UC Berkeley  

Dr. Ellen Taliaferro Scholarship:  
Susan Tunney

Vicki Hudson Emerging Writer Scholarship:

2018 Joyce Turley Scholarship: 
An anonymous but worthy winner!


2017 Winners of SFWC Scholarships!

Our 2017 SFWC Student Scholarship went to:
Zoe Lo, a student at Gunn High School 

2017 Kevin Smokler Scholarships:
Chris Finn and Chelsea Monroe

2017 Dr. Ellen Taliaferro Scholarship:
Julie Mayerson Brown

2017 Joyce Turley Scholarship:
An anonymous but worthy winner!

2017 Ray Larsen Scholarship:
Jaime Konzelman

2017 SFWC Scholarships for Veterans:
Juan Vaca and Michelle Holloway



Our 2016 SFWC Student Scholarships went to:
Emma Bernstein, Emma Eisler, Clare Sabry and Eliana Kontokanis.

Kevin Smokler Scholarships:
Arthur Klepchukov and Sara Puja Menzies

Dr. Ellen Taliaferro Scholarship:
Karly Dizon

Joyce Turley Scholarship:
Jennifer Castellanos

Ray Larsen Scholarship:
Denmo Ibrahim

Our San Francisco Writers Conference Diversity Scholarship winner this year is
 Parwana Fayyaz

Congratulations to all of our 2016 SFWC Scholarship winners!


When the 2017 SFWC Scholarships are available, it will be announced in the SFWC Newsletter first.
Get you free subscription by opting in using the form on the right.

2015 Winners

Bharti Kirchner–Other Voices Scholarship (English is not your first language) Malaika Mutere, Ph.D. for her beautifully written story of a school girl in West Kenya that is reminiscent of the way NoViolet Bulawayo writes in We Need New Names.

Victoria Hudson–Emerging Writers

This year’s winner is: Kristen Falso-Capaldi “You always stop writing eventually,” my inner voice said. “Wouldn’t you rather make cheese?” Kristen is a writer, musician and public high school teacher. The latter position has led her to believe she could run a small country if given the opportunity. She is the singer and lyricist for a folk/acoustic duo Kristen & J, she has finished a novel and has co-written a screenplay, Teachers: The Movie, which was an official selection for the 2014 Houston Comedy Film Festival. Kristen’s short story, “Of Man and Mouse” was published in the December 2013 issue of Underground Voices magazine, and several of her micro-fiction pieces have received accolades in various contests. Kristen lives in a small town in northern Rhode Island with her husband and cat. The runner-up is: Caroline Zarlengo Sposto “I write because writing is the final thing I want to do.” She began writing poetry, fiction, and creative non-fiction in earnest four years ago when her daughters went off to college. Her work has since been published in The Saturday Evening Post, Family Circle Magazine, and an assortment of literary magazines and anthologies in the U.S., the U.K and Canada. She is a Memphis correspondent forBroadwayworld.com, and Poetry Editor of the Humor in Americablog.

Dr. Ellen Taliaferro– Memoir of Forgiveness

The winner is Brother Augustine Wetta–a Benedictine monk who will be able to join us at the conference. The other semi-finalists were Jennifer Johnson, Joseph Naus, Fredda Takacs, and Melinda Mayor.

KEVIN SMOKLER SCHOLARSHIP WINNERS for 2015 are: Adrienn Mendonca-Jones Kirsten Fairchilds

The other scholarships for 2015, including the SFWC Student scholarships (primarily for high school seniors), will be announced soon. All of the winners will be recognized during the luncheon on Saturday, February 14 at the San Francisco Writers Conference. Thank you all, scholarship participants and benefactors alike for making these scholarships possible.